American Osteopathic Association

Advancing the distinctive philosophy and practice of osteopathic medicine

Members of the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA)

​Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) Membership Roster 2017-2018

Janice A. Knebl, DO, MBA, FACOI, FACP, Chair
Director, Center for Geriatrics
DSWOP Endowed Chair and Professor in Geriatrics
University of North Texas Health Science Center
Fort Worth, TX
Educator (2015-18)

David A. Forstein, DO, FACOOG, Vice Chair
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
University of South Carolina School of Medicine Greenville
Greenville, SC
Educator (2017-20)

Juan F. Acosta, DO, MS, FACOEP-D, FACEP
Associate Medical Director
Saint Catherine of Siena Medical Center
Smithtown, NY
Director of Medical Education (2015-2018)

Harriet C. Arnone, PhD
(Vice President for Planning and Assessment, New York Institute of Technology)
Public Member (2016-19)

William T. Betz, DO, MBA, FACOFP, dist.
(Senior Associate Dean for Osteopathic Medical Education
University of Pikeville-Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine)
Member-at-Large (2016-19)

Michael B. Clearfield, DO, FACOI, FACP
Touro University College of Osteopathic Medicine-CA
Vallejo, CA
Dean, Private College (2016-19)

Jennifer L. Gwilym, DO, FACOFP, FAAFP
Assistant Professor Family Medicine
Ohio University-Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine
Athens, OH
Member-at-Large (2017-20)

John M. Kauffman, Jr., DO, FACOI, FACP
Dean and Chief Academic Officer
Campbell University-Jerry M. Wallace School of Osteopathic Medicine
Buies Creek, NC
Member-at-Large (2016-19)

Lori A. Kemper, DO, MS
Midwestern University/Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine
Glendale, AZ
Member-at-Large (2017-20)

J. William McCord, Jr., DO
McCord Anesthesia and Consulting
Brownsboro, AL
Member-at-Large (2017-20)

Franklin J. Medio, PhD
Consulting Services for the Health Professions
Charleston, SC
Public Member (2016-19)

Robyn Phillips-Madson, DO, MPH, FACOFP
Founding Dean
University of the Incarnate Word School of Osteopathic Medicine
San Antonio, TX
Member-at-Large (2017-20)

Evelyn A. Schwalenberg, DO, FACP, FACOI, FNAOME
Associate Dean of Clinical Education
Midwestern University/Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine
Glendale, AZ
Member-at-Large (2015-18)

Jeffrey Stroup, PharmD, FCCP, BCPS
Chief Operating Officer
Oklahoma State University Medical Authority and Trust
Tulsa, OK
Hospital Administrator (2016-19)

Robert E. Suter, DO, MHA, FACOEP-D
Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Texas Southwestern
Dallas, TX
Member-at-Large (2015-18)

Richard A. Winn, EdD
Accrediting Commission for Community & Junior Colleges
Western Association of Schools and Colleges
Novato, CA
Public Member (2015-18)

AOA Staff to the Commission
Brian G. Kim, JD, Secretary, Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation